End of the week 12-19-09

Well the beginning of the week (returning from vacation) had an abrupt start.

I am working with a relatively new customer and we are working on a project in Oregon. The owner is a new customer for my customer, so everybody’s trying to impress everybody here for repeat business. When we started this project they asked me to supply the structural engineer of record for this project which wasn’t a problem as I work with several. So the one I decided to go with I have a great working relationship with and figured he’d be the best fit.

This project has been like banging your head against a wall from the word GO. To make a long story short, after two COMPLETE structural framing submittal’s, the engineer working for the city has been asking non-stop for our engineer’s work. “Show me calc’s on this, show me calc’s on that”. Well enough is enough I suppose and while I was on vacation, my engineer QUIT. He sent a partial payment back to my office and an e-mail stating that he would no longer be involved with this project due to the constant “harassing” from the city engineer. Sheesshh, what do you say to that?

So while I was gone, my customer has already hired an engineer to pick up where ours left off, talk about egg on your face.

On a different note, we are STILL waiting to hear about our plotter. We have entered a commitment to purchase and I think all that means is that we are not allowed to go shopping because they are eventually going to get around to selling us one? I dunno, I just know that our office is in dire need of one. Christmas is just around the corner, maybe Santa will bring us one.

River City Design is a full service drafting and design company focused on the self storage industry. You can see samples of our work on our website.


Leave a comment